UPDATE 108th Grey Cup Championship in Hamilton

December 12, 2021

OTTAWA—With regrets, Their Excellencies the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, and Mr. Whit Fraser will no longer be attending the 108th Grey Cup, the Championship of the Canadian Football League (CFL), in Hamilton, Ontario.

In the Governor General’s absence, CFL commissioner Randy Ambrosie will conduct the coin toss to officially kick off the championship game between the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and the Hamilton Tiger Cats.

Date: December 12, 2021  
Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: Tim Hortons Field, Hamilton, ON

Notes for Media:
Media wishing to cover the Grey Cup Championship Game must be accredited by the CFL.

About the Grey Cup and the CFL

In 1909, then-Governor General Earl Grey donated a trophy to the Rugby Football Championship of Canada. Originally, only teams registered with the Canadian Rugby Union were eligible to compete for the trophy, which subsequently became known as the Grey Cup. Over time, Canadian football became markedly different from its rugby origins. The Grey Cup subsequently became the property of the CFL, which had evolved into a professional football league.

For more information about the CFL, visit www.cfl.ca.

Media information:
Rideau Hall Press Office

Stay connected:
Follow GovernorGeneralCanada on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.