Governor General's Academic Medal

Update: Academic Medal Delivery

Production of the 2020–21 Governor General’s Academic Medal remains on hold.

Medals will be shipped to schools as soon as possible, once design and production work can be completed.

Please kindly share this information with your recipient(s).

Once your recipient(s) have been selected, please complete and submit the online Academic Medal form. You are welcome to present the certificates that were sent to you in April, in lieu of the medals, for the time being. 

Please continue to check our website in the coming weeks for further updates.

Thank you for your understanding and collaboration.

Lord Dufferin, Canada’s third Governor General after Confederation, created the Academic Medals in 1873 to encourage academic excellence across the nation. Over the years, they have become the most prestigious award that students in Canadian schools can receive.

For nearly 150 years, the Governor General’s Academic Medals have recognized the outstanding scholastic achievements of students in Canada. They are awarded to the student graduating with the highest average from a high school, as well as from approved college or university programs. Pierre Trudeau, Tommy Douglas, Kim Campbell, Robert Bourassa, Robert Stanfield and Gabrielle Roy are just some of the more than 50,000 people who have received the Governor General’s Academic Medal as the start of a life of accomplishment.

Today, the Governor General’s Academic Medals are awarded at four distinct levels: Bronze at the secondary school level; Collegiate Bronze at the post-secondary, diploma level; Silver at the undergraduate level; and Gold at the graduate level. Medals are presented on behalf of the Governor General by participating educational institutions, along with personalized certificates signed by the Governor General. There is no monetary award associated with the Medal.

Download Adobe Reader, free PDF viewer