New wearable insignia created for recipients of Commendation for Bravery

March 28, 2023

OTTAWA, Ontario – As Canada marks the 50th anniversary of the Decorations for Bravery, the Chancellery of Honours has created a new wearable insignia for past and future recipients of the Governor General’s Commendation for Bravery.

The Commendation for Bravery was created by Governor General Ramon Hnatyshyn in 1993, to honour those who have demonstrated selflessness and personal risk in hazardous circumstances, but whose actions do not quite meet the criteria for the award of a Bravery decoration.

Designed by the Canadian Heraldic Authority, the Governor General’s Commendation for Bravery pin consists of a cluster of frosted maple leaves. It measures 30 mm long and 10 mm wide at its widest point. The award is accompanied by a gold-embossed scroll inscribed with the recipient’s name and signed by the governor general.


“I have often been moved by the brave acts Canadians are capable of—acts both big and small that truly make a difference. Every recipient of the Governor General’s Commendation for Bravery has shown that they care deeply for others. They make this world a better place through their actions.”

Governor General Mary Simon

Quick Facts

  • The Chancellery of Honours is the section of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General that administers programs that form part of the Canadian Honours System, including the Order of Canada, the Decorations for Bravery, the Meritorious Service Decorations, Military Valour Decorations and the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers.
  • Since 1993, more than 4,000 people have received a Governor General’s Commendation for Bravery certificate. These individuals are now eligible to receive the new pin.
  • Efforts to contact eligible recipients are ongoing. For eligible recipients who have not been in contact with the Chancellery of Honours, you may write to
  • The Decorations for Bravery were created in 1972, by Queen Elizabeth II, to honour exceptional acts of selflessness in hazardous circumstances or situations of great peril.
  • Decorations for Bravery include three levels: Cross of Valour, Star of Courage and the Medal of Bravery.

Note to media

  • An image of the pin can be provided to media upon request at

Related links:

Media information:
Rideau Hall Press Office

Stay connected:
Follow GovernorGeneralCanada on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.