Governor General to Celebrate Canada’s Top Science and Engineering Researchers

November 9, 2020

OTTAWA—Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, will participate in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Awards during a virtual ceremony on Tuesday, November 10, 2020, at 1:30 p.m. EST. 

During the awards ceremony and celebration, NSERC’s annual prizes will be presented to 39 recipients comprised of top Canadian researchers and industry partners. The event also features the prestigious NSERC Herzberg Medal, Canada’s top science honour. This year will feature the third female researcher to be bestowed this honour, setting the stage for a spotlight on leading women scientists. 

The following NSERC Awards will be presented during the ceremony:

  • E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships
  • Synergy Awards for Innovation
  • Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering
  • NSERC John C. Polanyi Award
  • Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering

The names of the award recipients will be announced on the morning of the ceremony. For more information on the announcement of the recipients or on NSERC programs and awards, visit


Members of the media and the public who wish to watch
the ceremony are welcome to follow the live-streamed event on

the NSERC Facebook and YouTube pages. 

Media information:

Rideau Hall Press Office

Follow GGJuliePayette and RideauHall on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.