2021 Sobey Art Award

November 6, 2021

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, attended the 2021 Sobey Art Award ceremony, where Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory was announced as the winner of the 2021 Sobey Art Award.

Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory won the $100,000 Canadian prize, with each of the four shortlisted artists—Lorna Bauer, Rémi Belliveau, Gabi Dao, and Rajni Perera—receiving $25,000. The award is generously supported by the Sobey Art Foundation.

About the Sobey Art Award
Established in 2002, the Sobey Art Award aims to promote new developments in contemporary Canadian art and provide opportunities for artists, bringing them national and international attention. Recognized as one of the world’s most generous privately funded prizes for contemporary visual artists, the Sobey Art Award is now open to emerging Canadian artists of all ages.