The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


32 Canadians are Presented with the Diamond Jubilee Medal at the Citadelle of Québec

*Modified October 21, 2012

October 21, 2012

32 Canadians Honoured During a Presentation Ceremony of the
Diamond Jubilee Medal at the Citadelle of Québec

OTTAWA—The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal was presented to
32 recipients from various walks of life during a presentation ceremony on Sunday, October 21, 2012, at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec. His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, presided over the ceremony.

The names of the recipients and their short citations are attached. Additional information about the Diamond Jubilee Medal program is available at


Media information:

Marie-Pierre Bélanger
Rideau Hall Press Office

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter



Dr. Frederick Anderman, O.C.
Hampstead, Quebec

For his significant contributions to the treatment of epilepsy.

The Honourable Michel Biron, C.M.
Nicolet, Quebec

For his contributions to the economic, community and cultural development of his region by supporting many organizations as well as many local artists.

André Bisson, O.C.
Baie d’Urfé, Quebec

For his professional and social involvement with numerous organizations. 

The Honourable Roch Bolduc, O.C.
Québec, Quebec

For his career in Quebec’s public service and serving the common good. 

Paul G. Buissoneau, O.C.
Montréal, Quebec 

For his multiple contributions to the performing arts. 

The Honourable Claude Castonguay, C.C., O.Q.
Verdun, Quebec 

In recognition of his important contribution to the welfare of Quebec society. 

Raymond A.J. Chrétien, O.C.
Montréal, Quebec

For his brilliant diplomatic career of nearly forty years. 

Dr. Richard Leign Cruess, O.C., O.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

In recognition of his innovations in the field of ethics in medicine.

Dr. Sylvia R. Cruess, O.C.
Montréal, Quebec 

For the key role she played in drafting an international code of conduct for physicians.

Robert Després, O.C., G.O.Q.
Québec, Quebec 

For his important contributions to Quebec’s public service.

Jean-Pierre Dubuc, C.M.
Cap Rouge, Quebec 

For his innovative contributions in the field of agriculture.  

Marcel E. Dutil, C.M., C.Q.
Outremont, Quebec 

For his involvement in business and community activities. 

Sheila B. Goldbloom, O.C., C.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

For her community involvement for more than forty-five years.

Dr. Victor Goldbloom, C.C., O.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

For his work in promoting Canada's linguistic duality.

Alex Harvey
St-Ferréol, Quebec 

For his achievements as a cross-country skier on the national and international levels.

Pierre Harvey, C.M., C.Q.
St-Ferréol, Quebec

For his numerous contributions to sports and his Olympic achievements.

Laurent Lapierre, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec 

For his contributions in the fields of education and management of the arts.

Ricardo Larrivée
Ville Lemoyne, Quebec

For his involvement with La Tablée des Chefs and his work with underprivileged kids. 

John LeBoutillier, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec

In recognition of his leadership in business and his community involvement.

Alain Lefèvre, O.C., C.Q.
Montréal, Quebec 

For his internationally acclaimed talent as a pianist and communicator. 

Ginette Legendre
Lévis, Quebec

 For her talents as an author of stories intended for children with health problems.

Margaret Lock, O.C., O.Q.
Westmount, Quebec

For her groundbreaking research in the field of medical anthropology.

Dr. Jonathan Larmonth Meakins, O.C.
Montréal, Quebec

For his internationally renowned expertise in the field of medical research.

Dominique Michel, O.C., C.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

For her dazzling career in all areas of the entertainment world and her support of the Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont Foundation in the establishment of a cancerology centre. 

Jean-Guy Paquet, C.C., G.O.Q.
Québec, Quebec

For his commitment and work in the fields of higher education, research and innovation.

Monique Plamondon, C.M.
Québec, Quebec

For her contribution to popular education and popular science in various fields.

Gino Quilico, O.C.
Beaconsfield, Quebec

For his many contributions as a celebrated opera singer. 

Charles Robert Scriver, C.C.
Montréal, Quebec

For his significant work in the development of human genetics.

The Honourable Raymond C. Setlakwe, C.M.
Thetford Mines, Quebec 

For his social involvement in numerous public and volunteer organizations. 

Alain Stanké, C.M., C.Q.
Montréal, Quebec

For his impressive career as an author, producer, journalist and sculptor. 

Mark A. Wainberg, O.C., O.Q.
Montréal, Quebec 

For his major contributions to the study and treatment of HIV/AIDS. 

Vincent Warren, C.M.
Montréal, Quebec

For his legacy to the arts as one of Canada’s greatest dance historians.