The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


Canadian Delegation - Visits to Brazil, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago

April 19, 2012

Canadian Delegates to Accompany Governor General
on Visits to Brazil, Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago

OTTAWA—On the occasion of an official visit to the Federative Republic of Brazil, on April 22 to 28; a working visit to Barbados, on April 29 and 30; and a State visit to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, on May 1 and 2, 2012, Their Excellencies the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs. Sharon Johnston will be joined by official and accompanying delegations that will play an active role in highlighting Canada’s involvement in these three countries. 

In Brazil, the delegation of Canadian private sector and government leaders in the fields of education, innovation, trade and commerce will share their experiences and knowledge with their counterparts. These exchanges will further develop the wide-ranging and multi-faceted relationship with Brazil, a major economic player and priority partner for Canada, and will provide greater visibility for our bilateral co-operation initiatives in various sectors, particularly in strategies promoting education and economic development.  

In Barbados and in Trinidad and Tobago, the delegates will participate in various forums, including business luncheons and panel discussions on education. This visit will also highlight the 50th anniversary of bilateral relations between Canada and Trinidad and Tobago. 


The Honourable Diane Ablonczy
Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs) 

The Honourable Gary Goodyear (Brazil only)                                 
Minister of State (Science and Technology) (Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario) 

Deepak Obhrai
Member of Parliament and Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Rod Bruinooge (Brazil only) 
Member of Parliament                                                   

Phil McColeman (Brazil only)
Member of Parliament  

Robert Chisholm (Brazil only) 
Member of Parliament 


John Baker (Brazil only)
President and Chief Executive Officer,  Desire2Learn

The Honourable Perrin Beatty                                          
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Suzanne Fortier (Brazil only)                                            
President, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada

Mary Jo Haddad (Barbados &Trinidad and Tobago only)
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

James Knight
President and Chief Executive Officer, Association of Canadian Community Colleges

Karen McBride
President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Bureau for International Education

Gilles G. Patry (Brazil only)
President and Chief Executive Officer, Canada Foundation for Innovation

Nobina Robinson (Barbados &Trinidad and Tobago only)
Chief Executive Officer, Polytechnics Canada 

Berry Vrbanovic (Barbados &Trinidad and Tobago only)
President, Federation of Canadian Municipalities and Councillor, City of Kitchener 

The biographies of the accompanying delegation will be posted on at a later date.

Members of the public can follow the official visit to the Federative Republic of Brazil, the working visit to Barbados, and the State visit to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago online at, where speeches, photos and videos of the Governor General will be posted.


Media information:

Marie-Ève Létourneau
Rideau Hall Press Office

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter