Collections at the Citadelle

The Canadian character of the furniture and works of art enriches the heritage value of the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec. They showcase Canada’s diverse artistic and cultural traditions of yesterday and today. Highlights are presented during the guided tour of the residence's State rooms.

Furniture

Most of the furniture at the Citadelle was made in Canada. Some pieces displayed in the old wing have been part of the residence for a very long time; these include pieces drawing inspiration from France, as well as examples of Classical Revival and other historical styles. In the new wing, we find traditional French-Canadian antiques, some dating from the New France era.

Works of Art

Artists showcased at the Citadelle are Canadian; many have received honours awarded by the governor general. Fine examples of 20th- and 21st-century works of art, including several Inuit sculptures, are displayed in the State rooms. They complement the modern character of the architecture, while contrasting with the antique furniture. Together, they create a space that blends the old with the new and that reflects Canada’s heritage and diverse artistic achievements.

Public Services and Procurement Canada

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) is responsible for the inventory, preservation and display of the collections at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec. Through the years, PSPC has acquired many pieces of furniture and works of art, such as Jean-Paul Riopelle’s Les 24 heures de l’Isle-aux-Oyes, donated by the artist and now exhibited in the Frontenac Dining Room.

The Canadiana Fund

New acquisitions mostly come from donations made through the Canadiana Fund. The Canadiana Fund was established in 1990 by the National Capital Commission in Ottawa to enhance the State rooms of Canada’s official residences through donations of the finest examples of Canadian furniture and works of art. The Grant de Longueuil Epergne, displayed in the Salon Champlain, is a fine example of a historic artifact acquired by the Canadiana Fund.

Other Collections

To broaden the range of works represented, works of art on loan from other public institutions are sometimes added to the displays. For instance, the painting The Quebec Conference (1943), by Hubert Rogers—currently featured in the Main Entrance—is on loan from the Canadian War Museum. Also, several works of art and pieces of furniture are on loan from the Crown Collection for Canada’s Official Residences, managed by the National Capital Commission in Ottawa.

Collections à la Citadelle

Le cachet canadien du mobilier et des œuvres d’art rehausse la valeur patrimoniale de la Résidence du gouverneur général à la Citadelle de Québec. Ces objets reflètent les différentes traditions artistiques et culturelles du Canada d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Quelques pièces choisies sont présentées lors de la visite guidée des salles de cérémonie de la résidence.

Mobilier

La plupart des pièces du mobilier de la Citadelle ont été fabriquées au Canada. Certaines pièces du mobilier de l’ancienne aile font partie de la collection de la résidence depuis très longtemps. On y retrouve des meubles de style français, des meubles néoclassiques et des meubles d’autres époques. Dans la nouvelle aile, on retrouve surtout des antiquités du Canada français, certaines datant de l’époque de la Nouvelle‑France.

Œuvres d’art

Plusieurs des artistes canadiens représentés à la Citadelle sont récipiendaires de distinctions ou de récompenses décernées par le gouverneur général. Dans les salles de cérémonies, on retrouve des œuvres d’art des 20e et 21e siècles, y compris plusieurs sculptures inuites. Ces œuvres s’intègrent à la modernité de l’architecture, mais contrastent avec les antiquités. Mariant ainsi le nouveau et l'ancien, le décor intérieur reflète le riche patrimoine et les diverses réalisations artistiques du Canada.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) est responsable de mettre en valeur les collections de la résidence à la Citadelle, d’en maintenir l’inventaire à jour et de voir à leur bonne conservation. Au fil des ans, SPAC a fait l’acquisition de nombreuses pièces de mobilier et d’œuvres d’art. C’est le cas de l’œuvre Les 24 heures de l’Isle-aux-Oyes, de Jean-Paul Riopelle, donnée par l’artiste lui-même et exposée dans la salle à manger Frontenac.

Le Fonds Canadiana

Les nouvelles acquisitions proviennent surtout de dons faits par l’entremise du Fonds Canadiana. Créé en 1990 par la Commission de la capitale nationale (Ottawa), le Fonds Canadiana a pour but de rehausser les salles de cérémonies des résidences officielles du Canada grâce à des dons de pièces exceptionnelles, notamment du mobilier historique et des œuvres d’art. L’épergne Grant de Longueuil, exposée dans le salon Champlain, est un bel exemple d’objet historique acquis par l’entremise du Fonds Canadiana

Autres collections

Dans le but de varier les œuvres présentées, des emprunts sont parfois faits à d’autres collections publiques. Par exemple, dans l’entrée principale, on retrouve le tableau La Conférence de Québec (1943) d’Hubert Rogers, un prêt du Musée canadien de la guerre. De plus, plusieurs œuvres d’art et pièces de mobilier proviennent de la Collection de la Couronne pour les résidences officielles du Canada, une collection gérée par la Commission de la capitale nationale à Ottawa.