Collections at Rideau Hall

Rideau Hall’s interiors and the collections it features are a reflection of the nation’s history and a window on Canadian culture today. Highlights of the collections are presented during the guided tour of the State rooms.

The Crown Collection

Since Lord Monck first moved into Rideau Hall, the government has acquired furniture and works of art for the residence. The decorations and furnishings were changed throughout the years to adapt Rideau Hall's interirors to new State functions.

Today, the works of art and furniture at Rideau Hall are part of the Crown Collection for Canada’s Official Residences. The Collection is comprised of contemporary and antique works of art, traditional Canadian furniture and pieces coming from Europe, the Far East and other regions around the world.

The Crown Collection is managed and curated by the National Capital Commission (NCC), in Ottawa. The Collection also encompasses the art and furniture of the other five official residences in Canada’s Capital Region.

New acquisitions are carefully selected and special attention is paid to their origin. Representing each province and territory is particularly important in the case of Rideau Hall, which acts as a window on Canadian culture. The art and furniture at Rideau Hall were chosen on the basis of their history, significance, origin or connection to a governor general or to a residence in order to enhance the value of the heritage site.

The Canadiana Fund

The majority of new acquisitions come from donations made through the Canadiana Fund. The Canadiana Fund was established in 1990 by the NCC to enhance the State areas of Canada’s official residences, through donations of the finest examples of Canadian historical furnishings and works of art. 

Other Collections

To broaden the range of artists represented at Rideau Hall, the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General obtains pieces on loan from other public collections. The tradition of borrowing works of art began in the 1930s; as early as the time of Lord Bessborough, the National Gallery of Canada has loaned paintings to Rideau Hall. Today, Rideau Hall still displays works from the National Gallery, including William Kurelek’s series of six panels titled The Ukrainian Pioneer (1976).

Collections à Rideau Hall

À Rideau Hall, le décor intérieur et les collections reflètent l’histoire de notre nation, tout en offrant une vitrine sur la culture canadienne d’aujourd’hui. Les principales pièces des collections sont présentées lors de la visite guidée des salles de cérémonies de Rideau Hall.

La Collection de la Couronne

Depuis l’installation de lord Monck à Rideau Hall, le gouvernement a fait l’acquisition de meubles et d’œuvres d’art pour la résidence. La décoration et l’ameublement ont été modifiés au fil des ans pour adapter l'intérieur de la résidence aux nouvelles fonctions officielles qu'on lui attribuait.

Aujourd’hui, les œuvres d’art et le mobilier de Rideau Hall font partie de la Collection de la Couronne pour les résidences officielles du Canada. Cette collection comprend aussi bien des œuvres d’art contemporaines que des œuvres anciennes, du mobilier typiquement canadien et des pièces provenant d’Europe, d’Extrême-Orient et d’ailleurs.

La Collection de la Couronne est gérée et préservée par la Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN), à Ottawa. Cette collection comprend également les œuvres d’art et le mobilier des cinq autres résidences officielles de la région de la capitale nationale.

Lors des nouvelles acquisitions, une attention toute particulière est portée à la provenance des œuvres : chaque province et chaque territoire doivent être représentés dans la collection. Ceci est particulièrement important dans le cas de Rideau Hall, qui se veut une fenêtre ouverte sur l’ensemble de la culture canadienne. Les œuvres d’art et le mobilier exposés ici sont choisis selon leur histoire, leur importance, leur provenance ou leur lien avec un gouverneur général ou avec Rideau Hall, afin d’enrichir la valeur patrimoniale du site.

Le Fonds Canadiana

La majorité des nouvelles acquisitions proviennent de dons faits par l’entremise du Fonds Canadiana. Créé en 1990 par la CCN, le Fonds Canadiana a pour but de rehausser les salles de cérémonie des résidences officielles du Canada grâce à des dons de pièces exceptionnelles, notamment du mobilier historique ou des oeuvres d'art canadiens.

Autres collections

Pour élargir l’éventail d'artistes représentés à Rideau Hall, le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général gère un programme de prêts d’œuvres d’art provenant d’autres collections publiques. L’emprunt d’œuvres d’art est une tradition qui remonte aux années 1930. À l’époque de lord Bessborough, le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada prêtait déjà plusieurs tableaux à Rideau Hall. Aujourd’hui encore, on peut y voir quelques œuvres du Musée, telles que la série de six panneaux de William Kurelek intitulée Le Pionner ukrainien (1976).