Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is greeted by the members of public during a tree-planting ceremony at Rideau Hall in 2010.


History happens here
Canada’s unique system of government has evolved from centuries-old traditions of constitutional monarchy in France and England to meet our country’s particular needs and circumstances. Comprised of the Sovereign, the House of Commons, the Senate, and the 13 provincial and territorial legislatures, it is a shared system of responsible government that functions through both written rules and unwritten conventions.