Swearing-In Ceremony of Members of the Canadian Ministry

November 19, 2019

OTTAWA—Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, will preside over the swearing-in ceremony of members of the 29th Canadian Ministry. The event will take place in the Tent Room at Rideau Hall on Wednesday, November 20, 2019, at 1:30 p.m.

The swearing-in ceremony will be followed by an official photo of the Governor General with the Canadian ministry.

The ceremony will be live on Facebook via the account GGJuliePayette.

For more information on swearing-in ceremonies and official oaths (Oath of allegiance, Privy Councillor’s Oath and the Oath of Office), visit www.gg.ca.


The swearing-in ceremony will be open to photographers and pooled for videographers. Reporters will have access to a filling room from which they will be able to watch the ceremony on screen. For more information regarding the pool, please contact the Parliamentary Press Gallery at 613-992-6517.

To attend this event, media must be accredited by the Parliamentary Press Gallery. Journalists who are not members of the Parliamentary Press Gallery should contact pierre.cuguen@parl.gc.ca to obtain temporary accreditation.

Media should arrive at the Princess Anne Entrance no later than 12:45 p.m.
on the day of the event.

Media Information:
Julie Rocheleau
Rideau Hall Press Office
613-302-0249 (cell)

Follow GGJuliePayette and RideauHall on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.