Kandahar Cenotaph Rededication Ceremony

August 17, 2019

The Governor General delivered remarks at the Kandahar Cenotaph Rededication Ceremony. The ceremony recognized and paid tribute to the sacrifices of Canada’s fallen serving in Afghanistan.

Designed by Combat Engineer Captain Sean McDowell, the cenotaph was initially dedicated to the first six Canadian soldiers lost during the Afghanistan mission: Private Richard Green, Corporal Ainsworth Dyer, Sergeant Marc Léger and Private Nathan Smith (all April 17, 2002); and Sergeant Robert Short and Corporal Robbie Beerenfenger (both October 2, 2003).

The cenotaph is now located at National Defence Headquarters in Ottawa.