The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
It's an Honour
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 

Awards in Sciences and Humanities

The Governor General’s Awards in Sciences and Humanities are also presented yearly by the governor general. Administration and selection of the recipients are under the responsibility of independent organizations such as the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, RAIC College of Fellows, Canada Council for the Arts, Canada’s National History Society, Status of Women Canada and the Michener Awards Foundation. Please visit their respective website in order to review eligibility criteria, the nomination processes and list of previous recipients.

Governor General’s Medals in Architecture

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently built projects created by Canadian architects. The competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals, in 1950. This tradition has provided an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture, and the regional, cultural and historic forces which it expresses. The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, with the RAIC College of Fellows, is responsible for the organization and administration of the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts is responsible for selecting and administering the peer assessment jury.

Governor General’s History Awards

Created in 1996, the Governor General’s History Awards honour excellence in educational and public programming about our  history and heritage.  They celebrate the very best in Canadian achievements to ensure our national past has a vibrant presence in our society today. These awards are administered by Canada’s National History Society.

The Governor General’s Awards are offered in five categories:

  • Teaching
  • Scholarly Research
  • Museums
  • Community Programming
  • Popular Media

Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case

The Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case were created by the Government of Canada, in 1979, on the 50th anniversary of the Privy Council's historic decision that recognized women as persons. The awards salute Canadian contributions to the advancement of women’s equality and celebrate Canada’s evolution as an inclusive society. The awards are presented annually at a ceremony in October.

Recipients of these awards continue the tradition of courage, integrity and hard work inspired by the Famous Five  Their efforts have advanced the cause of equality for girls and women in significant and substantial ways that have enriched their communities. These awards are administered by Status of Women Canada.

Michener Award

Launched in 1970, under the auspices of Canada’s third Canadian governor general, the late Right Honourable Roland Michener, the Michener Award focuses on the degree of public benefit generated by media projects, both large and small, in print and broadcast. The annual award is open to daily and weekly newspapers, periodicals, news agencies, and radio and television stations and networks. The winners are chosen on the basis of hard-hitting impact, journalistic professionalism and what resources were available for the project. These awards are administered by the Michener Awards Foundation.

Date modified: May 30, 2018