The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


2012 Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts

March 23, 2012

Governor General to Celebrate Visual and Media Arts at Rideau Hall

OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, accompanied by Her Excellency Sharon Johnston, will present the 2012 Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts, during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Wednesday, March 28, 2012, at 6 p.m.

The Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts are Canada’s foremost awards for excellence in these artistic disciplines. The prizes are awarded annually to visual and media artists for distinguished career achievement in visual arts, architecture, independent film and video, or audio and new media. The awards also include the Saidye Bronfman Award for excellence in the fine crafts, as well as a prize for outstanding contributions to the visual and/or media arts in a volunteer or professional capacity. Each laureate receives $25,000 and a bronze medallion.

The following laureates will be honoured this year:

  • Margaret Dragu, performance artist
  • Geoffrey James, photographer
  • Charles Lewton-Brain, artist-goldsmith (Saidye Bronfman Award)
  • Ron Martin, visual artist
  • Diana Nemiroff, art gallery director and curator (Outstanding Contribution)
  • Jan Peacock, visual artist – media and installation
  • Roydon Rabinowitch, sculptor
  • Jana Sterbak, visual artist

The prizes are funded, administered and promoted by the Canada Council for the Arts. For more information on the Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts and on this year’s laureates, please visit


Media wishing to cover this event are asked to confirm their attendance with the Rideau Hall Press Office, and must arrive at the Princess Anne Entrance no later than 5:45 p.m.
on the day of the ceremony.

Media information:

Julie Rocheleau
Rideau Hall Press Office

Heather McAfee
Canada Council for the Arts
613-566-4414, ext. 4166

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter