The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


Governor General's Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case

October 14, 2010


Governor General to Present Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case


OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present the Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case to six laureates during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Tuesday, October 18, 2011, at 10 a.m.

Below is the list of the 2011 laureates of the Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case: 

  • Madeleine Boscoe,of North Vancouver, British Columbia, has dedicated more than 30 years to improving women’s health in Canada.
  • Nancy Hartling, of Riverview, New Brunswick, is a passionate advocate for women, focusing on domestic violence and poverty.
  • Lucie Joyal, of Boucherville, Quebec, has worked tirelessly for more than two decades to eliminate violence against women and children.
  • Sharon Donna McIvor, of Merritt, British Columbia, has devoted close to three decades of her life to advancing equality for Aboriginal women.
  • Kim Pate, of Ottawa, Ontario, is an internationally recognized advocate for marginalized, victimized and criminalized women.
  • Youth Award recipient, Amber JoAnn Fletcher, of Regina, Saskatchewan, is an advocate for equality issues and social justice.

About the Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case
In 1929, five women from Alberta won the judiciary battle to be recognized as persons, therefore making them eligible for appointment to the Senate. The Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case were established in 1979, by the Government of Canada, with the support of then-Governor General the Right Honourable Edward Schreyer, to celebrate the 50th anniversary of this historic decision. These awards highlight Canadian contributions to the advancement of women’s equality and celebrate Canada’s evolution as an inclusive society.

For additional information about the Persons Case award or the laureates, please visit the Status of Women Canada Web site:


Members of the media wishing to cover the ceremony are asked to confirm their presence in advance with the Rideau Hall Press Office and must present themselves at the Princess Anne Entrance by 9:30 a.m. on the day of the ceremony.

Media information:

Christelle Legault
Rideau Hall Press Office

Nanci-Jean Waugh
Status of Women Canada




Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter