The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


Presentation of the 2010 Michener Awards

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting


June 10, 2011


Presentation of the 2010 Michener Awards

OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present the 2010 Michener Awards for meritorious public service in journalism, as well as the 2011 Michener-Deacon Fellowship, on Tuesday, June 14, 2011, at 6 p.m., during a ceremony at Rideau Hall.

The six finalists for the 2010 Michener Awards are:

 Calgary Herald

The Canadian Broadcasting Company (CBC Television’s “the fifth estate”)

The Eastern Door

The Hamilton Spectator

La Société Radio-Canada (Émission «Découverte»)

The Vancouver Sun

This year’s Michener-Deacon Fellowship is awarded to Jane Armstrong, a Toronto freelance writer whose career includes 20 years as a national and international reporter for The Toronto Star and The Globe and Mail.

About the Michener Awards
The Michener Award for meritorious public journalism, sponsored by the Michener Awards Foundation, was launched in 1970, under the auspices of the late Right Honourable Roland Michener, Governor General from 1967 to 1974. The award focuses on the degree of public benefit generated by media projects, both large and small, in print and broadcast. The annual award is open to daily and weekly newspapers, news agencies, radio and television stations and networks, periodicals and online journalism. The winners are chosen on the basis of hard-hitting impact, journalistic professionalism, and the resources available for the project.

About the Michener-Deacon Fellowship
The fellowship of the Michener Awards Foundation, introduced in 1987, is known today as the Michener-Deacon Fellowship (named after the late Right Honourable Roland Michener, former governor general of Canada, and the late Paul Deacon, a senior media executive and Michener Awards Foundation president). The fellowship encourages excellence in investigative print and broadcast journalism. The fellowship is granted to mature journalists to complete, over a four-month period, a project that serves the public interest through values that benefit the community and enhances the journalist’s competence.

Both prizes are administered by the Michener Awards Foundation. For more information on the Michener and the Deacon Fellowship Awards, please visit



Media wishing to cover this event are asked to confirm their attendance with the Rideau Hall Press Office and must arrive at the Princess Anne entrance no later than 5:45 p.m.


Media information:

Christelle Legault
Rideau Hall Press Office

Russell Mills
Michener Awards Foundation
613-727-4723 ext. 5179


Follow GGDavidJohnston on Facebook and Twitter