The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


Governor General's Performing Arts Awards

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting

May 10, 2011


Governor General Celebrates the Performing Arts

OTTAWA—Their Excellencies the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs. Sharon Johnston will present the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA) during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, May 13, 2011, at 6 p.m. Their Excellencies will also attend the National Arts Centre gala in Ottawa, on Saturday, May 14, 2011, which will feature outstanding performances, evocative film portraits and personal tributes made by guest stars.

Created in 1992, under the auspices of the late Right Honourable Ramon John Hnatyshyn (1934‑2002), the GGPAA are presented each year to Canadian performers whose extraordinary lifetime achievements have contributed significantly to the enrichment of Canada’s cultural life. Nominations for the GGPAA are made by members of the general public. Laureates for the Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award are chosen from six categories, including theatre, dance, classical music, popular music, film and broadcasting. Nominations for the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts are also open to the public.

2011 Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award Laureates

 Yvon Deschamps, monologuist
Margie Gillis, dance artist, choreographer and teacher
William Shatner, actor, director, producer, writer, spokesman and philanthropist
Howard Shore, composer and musician
Leslee Silverman, artistic director
Paul Thompson, theatre creator, animateur and ideal audience

2011 Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts

Jean André Élie

2011 National Arts Centre Award

 Denis Villeneuve, filmmaker

For more information on the Governor General Performing Arts Awards, please visit


Media interested in covering the award presentation on Friday evening are asked to confirm their attendance and arrive at the Princess Anne entrance no later than 5:45 p.m.

Media information:

Christelle Legault
Rideau Hall Press Office

Diane Plouffe Reardon
Weber Shandwick
613-769-3854 (cellular)