The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 

Back to Search

Order of Canada

Andrew A. Dawes, C.M.

Vancouver, British Columbia [Canada]

Member of the Order of Canada

Awarded on November 1, 1991; Invested on April 29, 1992

He was the original and only first violinist with the Orford String Quartet throughout its twenty- six-year existence. His leadership, commitment and endurance were largely responsible for the sustained quality, esteem and respect the group garnered among musicians and audiences alike worldwide. Over the years the acclaimed ensemble championed works by Canadians and brought chamber music to small and remote communities throughout the country.