Governor General Julie Payette during the installation ceremony

Role

History Happens here

As a constitutional monarchy with a parliament comprised of the Sovereign, the Senate and the House of Commons, Canada’s form of government is among the most stable and enduring in the world. With an evolving role that predates Confederation, the governor general acts on behalf of the Sovereign, Canada’s head of State.

From Champlain to Now

Four hundred years ago, Samuel de Champlain—a governor in all but name—fulfilled several duties and responsibilities that would later be carried out by the governors of New France and, after Confederation, by the governors general of Canada.

Canada became a country at Confederation in 1867. Our system of government is a constitutional monarchy and a parliamentary democracy.  Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is Queen of Canada and Head of State. The Governor General is the representative of The Queen in Canada.

The responsibilities of the governor general have evolved over time, along with the evolution of Canada as a sovereign and independent nation. In 1947, letters patent signed by King George VI redefined the powers of the governor general. These letters patent “authorize and empower Our Governor General, with the advice of Our Privy Council for Canada or any members thereof or individually, as the case requires, to exercise all powers and authorities lawfully belonging to Us in respect of Canada”. Since then, the governor general has daily and fully exercised constitutional duties on behalf of the Head of State, not only in Canada, but also abroad. As per the letters patent, the governor general is also the commander-in-chief of Canada.

La gouverneure générale Julie Payette lors de la cérémonie d'installation

Rôle

AU COEUR DE L'HISTOIRE
En tant que monarchie constitutionnelle formée d’un Parlement comprenant le souverain, le Sénat et la Chambre des communes, le Canada est doté d’une des formes de gouvernement les plus stables et durables au monde. Le gouverneur général joue un rôle en constante évolution qui a été créé avant la Confédération. Il agit au nom du souverain, qui est le chef d’État du Canada.

De Champlain à aujourd'hui

Gouverneur dans les faits sans pourtant en avoir le titre, Samuel de Champlain a assumé il y a 400 ans plusieurs devoirs et responsabilités qui relèveront plus tard des gouverneurs de la Nouvelle-France et, après la Confédération, des gouverneurs généraux du Canada.

Le Canada est devenu un pays à la Confédération, en 1867. Notre régime gouvernemental est une monarchie constitutionnelle et une démocratie parlementaire. Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II est la souveraine et le chef d’État du Canada. Le gouverneur général est le représentant de la Reine au Canada.

Les responsabilités du gouverneur général ont évolué au fil du temps, tout comme le pays lui-même en tant qu’État souverain et indépendant. En 1947, des lettres patentes signées par le roi George VI redéfinissent les pouvoirs du gouverneur général. Ces lettres patentes autorisent « Notre gouverneur général, sur l’avis de Notre Conseil privé pour le Canada, ou de tous membres dudit Conseil ou individuellement, selon l’exigence du cas, à exercer tous les pouvoirs et attributions dont Nous sommes validement investi à l’égard du Canada ». Depuis, le gouverneur général exerce quotidiennement et pleinement les tâches du chef d’État, non seulement au Canada, mais également à l’étranger. Conformément aux lettres patentes, le gouverneur général est également le commandant en chef du Canada.