The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


2016 Michener Award

June 12, 2017

Presentation of the Michener Award and Michener-Deacon Fellowships 

OTTAWATheir Excellencies the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs. Sharon Johnston will host the presentation ceremony of the Michener Award for outstanding public service in journalism, and the Michener-Deacon Fellowships. The event will take place on Wednesday, June 14, 2017, at 7 p.m., at Rideau Hall.

2016 Michener Award Finalists

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Radio-Canada and The Toronto Star
The Globe and Mail
London Free Press
National Observer
La Presse
The Toronto Star 

Recognizing outstanding and unbiased public service in journalism, the award is presented to news organizations: newspapers, broadcasting stations and networks, news agencies, periodicals, magazines and online journalism sources.

Michener-Deacon Fellowship for Investigative Journalism

2017 Recipient – Valérie Borde

This award was created to encourage excellence in investigative print, broadcast and online journalism. The winning fellow is expected to undertake a project that aspires to the criteria of the Michener Award, with emphasis on identifiable benefits for the public good, improvements in public policy, ethical standards, corporate governance or the lives of Canadians.

Michener-Deacon Fellowship for Journalism Education 

2017 Recipient – Matthew Pearson

Dedicated to the advancement of the education of Canadian journalists, the fellowship supports a mature journalist-in-residence at a recognized Canadian school of journalism for one semester. The purpose of the fellowship is to enhance the education of both the applicant and the students enrolled in the journalism program.

About the Michener Awards Foundation
The Michener Awards Foundation celebrates and promotes excellence in Canadian public service journalism. The Michener Award was launched in 1970, under the auspices of the late Right Honourable Roland Michener, Governor General from 1967 to 1974.  For more information, visit


Media wishing to cover this event are asked to confirm their attendance
 in advance with the Rideau Hall Press Office.

Media information:

Marie-Pierre Bélanger
Rideau Hall Press Office
613-852-3248 (cell) 

Kim Kierans
Michener Awards Foundation
902-422-1271 ext. 164 

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter.