The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
Educational Resources Eduzone
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


2014 Governor General’s History Awards

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, presented teachers and other outstanding Canadians with the Governor General’s History Awards for their efforts to further an interest in and understanding of Canadian history and heritage.The awards were presented at a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on November 3, 2014.

The 19th Governor General’s History Awards honoured exceptional achievements in five areas: teaching, museums, community programming, scholarly research, and popular media.

The Eduzone team would particularly like to congratulate the laureates in the Excellence in Teaching category:

  • Michael Berry (Dr. E. P. Scarlett High School, Calgary, Alberta)
  • Laurie Cassie and Sharon Moy (David Livingstone Elementary School, Vancouver, British Columbia)
  • Gérald Charron(École Saint-Joseph PALS, Lévis, Quebec)
  • Ryan McManaman and David Alexander Owen Sound Collegiate and Vocational Institute, Owen Sound, Ontario)
  • Manon St-Hilaire (Sainte-Thérèse-de-l’Enfant-Jésus, Saint-Jérôme, Quebec)
  • Connie Wyatt Anderson (Oscar Lathlin Collegiate, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Manitoba)

Photo: Sgt Ronald Duchesne, Rideau Hall

Our most sincere congratulations also go to the laureates of the eight national student awards and to the winner of the SEVEC Ambassador of History Award

Kayak Kids’ Illustrated History Challenge:

  • Charles Bilodeau (Saint-Nicolas, Quebec)
  • Dominyka Taylor (Fredericton, New Brunswick)

The Government of Canada History Awards for Students:

  • Noémie Cloutier (Montréal, Quebec)
  • Bushra Sajjad (Brampton, Ontario)

Aboriginal Arts & Stories:

  • Aviaq Johnston (Iqaluit, Nunavut)
  • Andrea Lanouette (Surrey, British Columbia)
  • Nicole Paul (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan)
  • Mercedes Sandy (Christian Island, Ontario)

SEVEC Ambassador of History Award:

  • Matt Kelly (Montague Regional High School, Montague, Prince Edward Island)

For more information about these awards and for a complete list of this year’s laureates, visit You can view more photos taken during the ceremony on our web site.

Eddy and the Eduzone team

Please feel free to share this EduBulletin with your colleagues, contacts and friends!