The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


2012 Governor General’s History Awards

December 6, 2012

His Excellency to Present the Governor General’s History Awards

OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will honour teachers, along with other outstanding Canadians, for furthering an interest in and understanding of Canadian history and heritage, at the Governor General’s History Awards ceremony, being held at Rideau Hall, on Monday, December 10, 2012, at 10:30 a.m.

The 17th Governor General’s History Awards honour exceptional achievements in five areas: teaching, scholarly research, popular media, museums, and community programming.

The Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Teaching:

  • Milena Ivkovic – Newtonbrook Secondary School, Toronto, Ontario
  • Brian Jaffray – Dehcho Divisional Education Council, Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories
  • Scott Masters – Crestwood Preparatory College, Toronto, Ontario
  • Elizabeth Phipps – Fairhaven School, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Janet Thompson – Gladstone Secondary School, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Daraius M. Bharucha and Stefano Fornazzari San Martín –Bill Crothers Secondary School, Unionville, Ontario

The Governor General’s History Award for Scholarly Research (Sir John A. Macdonald Prize):

  • François-Marc Gagnon, Montréal, Quebec, Nancy Senior, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, and **Réal Ouellet, Québec, Quebec – The Codex Canadensis and the Writings of Louis Nicolas: The Natural History of the New World, Histoire Naturelle des Indes Occidentales. ** The award for Mr. Ouellet will be presented at a later date.


The Governor General’s History Award for Popular Media (Pierre Berton Award):

  • Réal Bélanger, Québec, Quebec, and John English, Toronto, Ontario – Dictionary of Canadian Biography

The Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Museums – History Alive!

  • Canadian War Museum, Ottawa, Ontario – Human Library

The Governor General’s History Awards for Excellence in Community Programming:

  • Calgary Heritage Initiative Society, Calgary, Alberta
  • La Meute culturelle, Tiny, Ontario

In addition, eight national student awards will be presented to the following individuals: 

 Kayak Kids’ Illustrated History Challenge:

  • Lena Rye, Toronto, Ontario
  • Mylan Champagne, Les Éboulements, Québec 

The Begbie Canadian History Contest:

  • Scott Peverelle, Surrey, British Columbia
  • Corwan Groux, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario 

Canadian Aboriginal Writing and Arts Challenge:

  • Tommy Starr, Camperville, Manitoba
  • Victoria Swain, Bruce Mines, Ontario
  • Stephanie Wesley, Thunder Bay, Ontario
  • Melanie Jewell, Fort Smith, Northwest Territories

About the Governor General’s History Awards
The Governor General’s History Awards were first established in 1996, by Canada’s National History Society, to recognize excellence in teaching Canadian history. Since the creation of the awards, over 100 teachers have been honoured at Rideau Hall and at the Residence of the Governor General at the Citadelle of Québec. In partnership with Canada’s leading national history organizations, including the Begbie Society, the Canadian Historical Association, the Canadian Museums Association, and the Historica-Dominion Institute, the Society has worked to expand the awards to recognize the many different ways history is taught, communicated and celebrated by Canadians. The Governor General’s History Awards now provide an annual opportunity to bring together museums, community organizations, writers, historians, students, teachers and media producers to celebrate Canadian history and to learn from one another. For more information about these awards, visit



Media information

To confirm your attendance at the ceremony:
Marie-Ève Létourneau
Rideau Hall Press Office

To book an interview with the recipients:
Nicole Harris
Maverick Media Solutions


Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter