The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
News & Events
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 


Governor General’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting

November 18, 2009

Seven Teachers to be honoured with the Governor General’s Awards
for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History

OTTAWA—Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, will present the Governor General’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History to seven teachers at Rideau Hall, on Friday, November 20, 2009, at 10 a.m.

This year’s award-winning strategies from Canada’s most passionate educators include:
- Filming and starring in a documentary that unravels the mysteries of modern day Quebec;
- Creating a board game that propels students back in time to the 15th century;
- Creating Parliament Hill style question periods in the classroom to debate controversial laws;
- Exploring combat comic books to assess the accuracy of modern day sources concerning World War II;
- Empowering students with 21st-century tools as they employ cyberspace to explore Canada’s past;
- Steer roping and wrangling to celebrate Alberta’s cattle ranching history.

The 2009 recipients are as follows:

Lindsay Hall – Huron Park Secondary – Woodstock, ON
Michel Marcotte
– École primaire Primadel – Saint-Adelphe, QC
Brent Pavey
– Waterloo Collegiate Institute – Waterloo, ON
Neil Robinson
– Westmount Charter School – Calgary, AB
Neil Stephenson
– Calgary Science School – Calgary, AB
Karen Wight and Alison England – Longview School – Longview, AB

For detailed biographical information and photos of the recipients, visit Canada’s National History Society’s Web site at

NEW—Three components added to this year’s Awards
This year, in addition to the awards presented to the teachers, three new components have been added: the presentation of the Pierre Berton Award to actor, filmmaker and author Paul Gross to recognize excellence in popularizing history in the public media; the presentation of the Sir John A. Macdonald Prize to Ian McKay to honour excellence in published academic research; and the presentation of student awards to the two winners of the Kayak Kids Illustrated / Les Débrouillards History Challenge (grades 4 to 8), to the two winners of the Begbie Canadian History Contest(grades 10 to 12)and to the two winners of the Historica-Dominion Institute’s Great Canadian Question Essay Competition (post-secondary).For more information on these awards, visit

About the Governor General’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History
The Governor General’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History were established in 1996 by Canada’s National History Society. Every year, the awards recognize teachers from elementary and secondary schools across Canada, who have inspired and challenged students about Canadian history, be it in the field of social studies, economics, political studies, contemporary studies or geography. Since its creation, over 100 teachers have been honoured at Rideau Hall and the Governor General’s Residence at the Citadelle of Québec.


Media Information:
To confirm your attendance at the ceremony, please contact:
Marie-Ève Létourneau
Rideau Hall Press Office

To book an interview with the recipients, please contact:
Nicole Harris
Maverick Media Solutions Inc.